Dish Network is Doomed

I have been paying $80/month to Dish Network for satellite TV for quite a while.  Trouble is that most of what I watch can be found for free on the web.  What is the point of paying $1000/year?!?

I called up yesterday to cancel my service, and a nice woman explained that I could “save” my recorded shows by simply connecting a USB hard drive up to the Dish Network receiver.  Turns out this is true.  I copied all of my recordings onto the USB HD.

Then I tried to play them by connecting the USB HD to my PC.  The PC could not read the USB HD.  So, I connected it back to the Dish Network receiver.  And now the Dish Network receiver cannot read the USB HD, either.

So, I decided to just watch the remaining shows directly from the Dish Network receiver.  But my recorded shows are now gone.  They may be on the USB HD, but neither the PC nor the Dish Network receiver can read them.  They are just gone.  What the “nice woman” had described as “saving” my recordings was actually “moving” my recordings. So, the nice, but stunningly stupid, lady at Dish Network managed to instruct me to destroy all of my recorded shows.

When I called today, to cancel my service, for real, I explained the above.  The supervisor said that the situation was very frustrating.  When I asked whether he could get in touch with the woman who had destroyed my recordings, to prevent her from doing this to other customers, he said that this was not possible.  He has no way to find out who it was and explain to her what she had done.

Given that so much content is available for free over the Internet, Dish Network is already in trouble.  But if they instruct customers to destroy recorded shows, and cannot identify those customer service personnel who are incompetent, they are in an entirely different world of hurt.  Darwin: take note.

Leave a Reply

