Spring Comes Roaring In

I saw a wild turkey within about 10 feet of the house on Wednesday. Thursday morning, the pond was virtually covered with ice.  I went out after lunch to wrestle with some tree limbs that had fallen during the winter, and to convince some diagonal trees that life in the horizontical is much preferred.  It was 60 with nice sun, almost perfect weather.    No bugs yet.  By mid afternoon, I realized that the pond ice was almost gone, so I put the waterfall pump back in the pond, and started it going.  As I went to bed, I heard the first of the spring peepers.  From ice to peepers in 12 hours.  I guess winter’s over here.

Wild Turkey 10 feet from the house

Leave a Reply

