Microsoft Sucks. Dell Sucks. Best Buy Sucks

Well. I suppose the title is a bit over-the-top. But hear me out.

A friend of mine asked for help, because his copy of Internet Explorer was no longer working properly. When I got to his computer, I saw that the Files, Send, Link menu entry was grayed out.

A laborious web search revealed a few articles about how to cure this, but none of those efforts worked. The situation was complicated because of all of the different versions of IE and Vista [yetch!].

On one of the web pages, I saw a phone number to call for Microsoft support. I was a bit suspicious, since I’ve NEVER gotten ANY support out of Microsoft, but I called the number.

As soon as I explained that this was a Dell computer, the guy from Microsoft could not get rid of me fast enough. He gave me a number for Dell Tech Support. That number was wrong.

I then called Dell on the phone. When they discovered that the computer had been purchased at Best Buy, they could not get me off the phone fast enough. They gave me a number for Best Buy.

When I spoke with the technician from Best Buy, as soon as I explained the problem, she hung up the phone on me. When I called back to complain, I was told that they would try to solve my problem, but only after I’d paid them $40.

I hung up on them.

I can understand how each of these companies cannot afford to provide support for their products indefinitely. But I don’t see why everyone on the planet should pony up $40 to solve a problem that should be explained and solved on a web site.

A word to the wise. There is no such thing as a bargain. When you buy a computer from Dell, you give up any support that Microsoft might have provided; and when you buy that “Dell” computer from Best Buy, you gave up all of your Dell support.

Anyway. IE still does not work. Like I said, they all suck.

One Response to “Microsoft Sucks. Dell Sucks. Best Buy Sucks”

  1. Dick Says:

    NO! I won’t fix your computer…
    Saw it on a T-shirt. Made sense to me. Similar to “NO! I won’t do your plumbing.”

    >I can understand how each of these companies cannot afford to provide support for their products indefinitely.

    But they can afford to build a web site that will tell how to fix whatever? If a fix was easy, Googling would work… Googling and/or user communities/forums – I’m impressed with how helpful/effective some of them are…

    Back to fixing someone else’s computer… What else – besides the thing they want fixed – is on the machine? Plugins, adware, malware, botware, “don’t know what it is, but I’ll click OK’, OS updates not made… No way to know…

    So… I do occasional “can you fix it?” work for blood relatives but even there it’s usually “I’ll help YOU try to fix it… for an hour or so. Hope WE can do some good but who knows…”

    It’s good to see you writing again.
    Dick

Leave a Reply

